new ruger american 30/06

• 9.8K Views
  • Last Post 31 January 2014
bob54www posted this 11 November 2013

I just bought this rifle and am casting a lee 200 gr. bullet for it. some guys I know who cast say cast to .312 or .311. but my bore is .308 so why cast over .308? also they say keep FPS to 1,900 or less. I want to load to 2,400. whats up with this info? is it BS or am I dumb? call me anything if I'm wrong it won't bother me. I just need the truth, this is my first attempt to cast for rifles. thank you for any input.

.>

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
LWesthoff posted this 11 November 2013

Bob: I load for two .30 cal rifles; an '03A3 30'06 and a Savage Mod 12BVSS .308W. I size .311 for the '06 and until recently I sized .310 for the .308. Just recently I had a friend work over an old .309 sizing die to give me a .3105 bullet, and it seems to show great promise in the Savage.

Regarding desired MV, if you look at the CBA match results, you'll find that most of the winners (in .30 cal.) are running around 1600 -1800 fps. Some shooters are fairly successful with 2000+ fps loads, but they do not give match winning accuracy, and they do give more problems with bore leading.

You can get a lot of good info from the match results published by the CBA. They include rifle, bullet sizing info, powder type and charge wt. etc.

Hope this helps,

Wes

Attached Files

bob54www posted this 11 November 2013

I don't need match accuracy just need to hit a deer at 200 yards. Is that possible with a lead bullet? and .308 is too small for a .308 bore? I just don't understand why you all go over bore size, it doesn't make sense, it would seem to raise pressure with a .311 and .310 bullet, and maybe with a .308 it would cause less leading . please explain?????

Attached Files

RDUPRAZ posted this 11 November 2013

bob54WWW:

I'll try to clear some of this up for you. And no, your questions are not dumb. It's just a matter of some details.