Marlin 336

• 7.1K Views
  • Last Post 05 April 2014
Tom Acheson posted this 15 October 2013

I'm completely new to lever action guns. Have a chance to buy a Marlin 336 chambered in .38-55 recently re-barreled with a full octagon 1:12 twist Green Mountain barrel.

Any pros or cons on this type of a rifle for a first lever gun?

Thanks!

Tom

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 15 October 2013

if i wanted a neat lever gun, there is a sako on nra auction ( auctionarms ) right now ...its in 308, but could be rebarreled to 358 w i bet.

next down the ” interesting ” list is a browning lever ... but they are so good they might be boring ...

then we then we have the win x vs the marlin ..i have had some of each .. my choice would be a modern win 86 ...

but the marlin 336 is a better gun for shooting than the win 92/94 ...

but everyone should have a 94/92 W ...

heck, the only good answer is one of each ! ( g ) .

i gotta admit we just converted a buddies 94 in 30-30 to 38-55, with tang site, having a ball ... on our 5th mold already ... 10 gr unique for shoulder survival .

ken

Attached Files

Little Debbie posted this 15 October 2013

No downside at all. The .38-55 is easy to load and shoots very accurately. Hopefully the Green Mountain barrel has modern a bore diameter around .375, makes everything easier. My Winchester 94 has a .375 bore plus a little. I size bullets to .378 and have no issues with chambering standard W-W brass. W-W and Starline brass is readily available or you can form it from .30-30 brass. I've found the Lyman 375449 works great for my 38-55 and .375 H&H which is a bonus for me.

Attached Files

RDUPRAZ posted this 15 October 2013

Have a Marlin 336 Cowboy in 38-55 and it will be on my estate sale.

RD

Attached Files

pat i. posted this 15 October 2013